C.L.“BUTCH” OTTER
ID O Governor

GAVIN M. GEE
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE Director

May 12, 2008

Dear Idaho Collection Agency Act Licensee:

The 2008 Idaho Legislature adopted significant changes to the Idaho Collection Agency Act
(Act) that will go into effect on July 1, 2008. This letter is to provide you with a summary of some
of the more significant changes, as well as the enclosed instructions on transitioning from a “Permit”
to a “License” under the Act.

Importantly, the Department anticipates that your organization will be able to continue its
existing activities under its current “Permit” while transitioning to a “License” under the Act.
However, failure to timely comply with the new requirements, as described in the enclosed
instructions, may result in loss of authority to engage in the business activities covered by the Act.

Summary of Some of the Amendments to the Idaho Collection Agency Act

Elimination of: (i) the “Foreign Permittee” status, (ii) the requirement to maintain an
office in Idaho, (iii) the pre-license test requirement, and (iv) the $2,500 net worth
requirement;

Addition of a requirement that each licensee under the Act designate a home office as its
principal location for business activities under the Act, and designate a person with at
least three (3) years’ experience to be responsible for each office wherein business
activities under the Act are conducted in ldaho. Each branch location, from which
business activities in ldaho are conducted, must be registered with the Director (no fee
for registration), and licensees must inform the Director of the opening of any branch at
least thirty (30) days prior to opening, and no later than thirty (30) days after the closing
of any branch;

Elimination of the $2,000 surety bond that was formerly required as indemnification to
the Department for expenses incurred as a result of investigations, administrative
proceedings, and prosecutions under the Act. All licensees under the Act must maintain
and file with the Director an Idaho-specific surety bond in the amount of $15,000, or two
times the average monthly net collections for the preceding year computed to the next
highest one thousand dollars ($1,000), whichever sum is greater, up to a maximum of one
hundred thousand dollars ($100,000);

Consolidation of the definitions of “credit counselor” and “debt counselor” and
elimination of the requirement that credit counselors must be qualified as exempt
organizations under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code as a condition of
licensure in ldaho;
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5. Requirement that each applicant for a license under the Act, and each licensee at annual

10.

renewal, shall file with the Director a complete list of its agents/solicitors who contact, or
will contact, persons in ldaho in connection with the licensee’s business activities under
the Act (the agent list). A fee of $20 for each listed agent shall accompany the list. At
least every calendar quarter, licensees are required to notify the Director of any additions
to its agent/solicitor list and pay a fee of $20 for any such new agents/solicitors that acted
for the licensee for more than thirty (30) business days;

Provision that a license under the Act shall remain in full force and effect unless the
licensee fails to timely satisfy the license renewal requirements by March 15th of each
year, in which case the license expires by operation of law and a new license application
is required as a condition of the issuance of a new license. The application fee for a new
license is $150, and the annual license renewal fee is $100;

Allowance of the collection of a fee (commonly referred to as a “convenience fee”) from
debtors, when such fee reasonably relates to the actual processing cost of a demand draft
or other form of electronic payment where the debtor has preauthorized the method of
payment and has also been notified in advance that payment may be made by alternative
means not resulting in any processing charge, fee or expense to the debtor;

Requirement that debt or credit counselors who do not receive, hold, or disburse debtor
funds: (i) may not charge for their services more than 20% of the principal amount of the
debtor’s unsecured debt at the time of contracting for services for the management of
debt; and (ii) must refund 50% of any collected fees associated with unsettled debt at the
time of cancellation by a debtor of a debt management services contract prior to
completion of the contract;

Inclusion of “credit repair organization” in the definitional section, together with a
requirement for licensure, bonding, and a prohibition against charging or receiving any
consideration for the performance of any credit repair service before such service is fully
performed; and

Provision that Idaho licensed attorneys are exempt from the provisions of the Act to the
extent that they are retained by their clients to engage in activities authorized by the Act
and such activities are incidental to the practice of law. Idaho licensed attorneys are not
exempt from the Act when conducting activities covered by the Act in a separate
business.

Thank you.

Enclosures

Sincerely,

K.C. Schaler
Supervising Examiner
Idaho Department of Finance



What Must | Do to Comply With the July 1, 2008
Changes to the Idaho Collection Agency Act?

If you are an existing “Foreign Permittee” in Idaho
(Your existing Permit number begins with a “CFP” or “CDF” designation)

1. As soon as possible, but by no later than by June 30, 2008, complete and return the
enclosed Transition Checklist, together with the following:

a. A surety bond (form also enclosed) in the amount of $15,000. A
Certificate of Deposit (CD) in lieu of the bond is allowed by Idaho law.
Please see the enclosed instructions for this option;

b. An agent/solicitor list together with a $20 annual fee for each such
agent/solicitor (one check covering all listed agents will suffice); and

C. Designation of a natural person, with at least three (3) years’ experience
in the business being conducted under the Act who is responsible for the
activities at each office licensed or registered under the Act.

2. No additional license application fee is required of existing “Foreign Permittees” in
connection with the transition from a “Permit” to a “License” if the enclosed
Transition Checklist is completed and delivered, together with the above listed
items, to the Department of Finance on or before June 30, 2008. Submission by
June 15, 2008, is strongly encouraged to allow your organization adequate time
to cure any deficiencies prior to July 1, 2008.

If you are an existing “Collection Agency Permittee,” “Debt Counselor
Permittee,” or “Credit Counselor Permittee” in Idaho
(Your existing Permit number begins “CCA” or “CDC”)

1. As soon as possible, but by no later than by June 30, 2008, complete and return the
enclosed Transition Checklist whereon your organization must designate a natural
person, with at least three (3) years’ experience in the business being conducted
under the Act to be responsible for the activities at each office licensed or registered
under the Act;

2. To transition from a “Permit” to a “License,” no additional license application fee is
required of existing collection agency or debt/credit counselor permittees, and no
disruption in current business activities in Idaho is anticipated so long as the
enclosed Transition Checklist is timely completed and delivered to the Department.
Submission by June 15, 2008, is strongly encouraged to allow your organization
adequate time to cure any deficiencies prior to July 1, 2008.
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IDAHO COLLECTION AGENCY AND DEBT/CREDIT COUNSELOR 2008 TRANSITION CHECKLIST

For use with permit numbers beginning with “CCA-" and “CDC-"
To be filed by June 30, 2008

The following items must be provided to the Department in order to complete your organization’s transition
process from permittee to licensee to be effective July 1, 2008: Submission by June 15th is strongly encouraged.

1.
Legal Name of Company Phone
“Main” Office Physical Address City, State, ZIP
Mailing Address (if different) EMAIL
2. DBAs or Fictitious Business Names: _List any dba or fictitious business name to be used in Idaho. If any dba
name does not currently appear on your permit, provide a file-stamped copy of the Certificate of Assumed
Business Name issued by the Idaho Secretary of State.
3. Branches: List all branch locations from which your Idaho business activities are directly or indirectly

conducted. Use additional pages as necessary.

Address City, State, ZIP
Phone Fax Email
Address City, State, ZIP
Phone Fax Email




4. Responsible Person _in_Charge (RPIC): This person must demonstrate a minimum of three (3) years’
experience specifically related to the type of business conducted by the licensee under the Idaho Collection
Agency Act. This person does not have to be an owner, officer, member, partner or director. This person does
not have to physically work from the main licensed office location; however, if the RPIC works from any other
location, a toll-free number to reach this person during normal business hours must be provided to Idaho debtors
and the Department.

Name of Responsible Person in Charge Physical Business Address

Phone/Toll Free Number Fax email

The following items may be used to demonstrate the required experience in the business to be conducted for the
RPIC listed above:

a. A résume that includes detailed job descriptions, duties or experience in the business to be conducted
under this license; or

b. Evidence of successful passing of the Idaho Collection Agency Qualifying Officer Exam by the
designated RPIC if the activity to be conducted is collection activity. Provide month/year test was passed
; or

c. A notarized certification, signed by someone with signature authority for the licensee that attests to the
required experience of the designated RPIC.

5. List of Agents and Agent Fees: Provide a list of agents/solicitors who conduct licensable activity in the state of
Idaho for or on behalf of the licensee (Use additional pages as necessary). For any agent added since completion
of the 2008 renewal process that has acted for or on behalf of the licensee in Idaho for more than 30 business
days, provide the $20 agent fee.

Name “Alias” Name(s) Used in Idaho
Physical Work Address City, State, ZIP
Name “Alias” Name(s) Used in Idaho
Physical Work Address City, State, ZIP

I acknowledge that information required at the time of application, application transition and renewal shall be updated and
filed with the Director of the Department of Finance in a timely manner and as necessary to keep the information current.

Signature of Authorized Person for the Licensee

Printed Name

Date Phone Number

Please submit all items simultaneously.
Return this Checklist with your transition package.



STATE OF IDAHO BOND #

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
Consumer Finance Bureau Effective date 20

800 Park Blvd., Ste 200

Boise, ID 83712
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0031

SURETY BOND FOR PERMITTEE UNDER THE IDAHO COLLECTION AGENCY ACT
Pursuant to Idaho Code § 26-2232
($15,000.00 minimum)

, Principal herein, desires to engage in business as a permittee under the Idaho
Collection Agency Act, Idaho Code § 26-2221, et seq. (the Act), under the name shown above, and as such is required pursuant to
§ 26-2232 of the Act to execute this bond to the State of ldaho.

NOW, THEREFOR, said Principal and , as Surety, a corporation duly incorporated
under the laws of the state of and authorized to do business in Idaho as a surety, are held
and firmly bound unto the State of Idaho, for the use and benefit of whom it may concern, in the sum of
$ , lawful money of the United States of America, for the payment of which we hereby bind ourselves,

our and each of our heirs, assigns, executors and administrators, jointly and severally, firmly by these presents. The effective date of
this surety bond is: :

In any case where the Principal or its representatives has failed to account for and pay over the proceeds of any collection made or
money received for payment or prorating to creditors, or has failed to return to a debtor any sum received that was not to be applied to
his debts, the Surety shall be obligated to the Department of Finance, State of Idaho, under this bond therefor, up to the limit of this
bond. Further, the creditor or debtor shall have in addition to all other legal remedies a right of action in its own name on this bond,
without the necessity of joining the Principal in the action.

The Surety may cancel this bond provided that the Surety shall provide thirty (30) days’ prior written notice of the cancellation of this
bond to the Principal and to the Director of the Idaho Department of Finance. Such notice shall be by registered or certified mail with
request for a return receipt and addressed to the Principal at its main office, and to the Director of the Idaho Department of Finance at
the address set forth above.

In no event shall the liability of the Surety under this bond and all claims against the bond exceed the face amount of this bond.

(PRINCIPAL)

(SIGNATURE OF OFFICER OF THE PRINCIPAL) DATE

(NAME OF SURETY COMPANY)

(SIGNATURE OF OFFICER OF SURETY COMPANY) DATE

(TITLE OF OFFICER OF SURETY COMPANY)

(NAME, TITLE AND TELEPHONE NUMBER OF CONTACT
FOR SURETY)

Rev 5/08
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PROCEDURES - CD IN LIEU OF BOND
(Idaho Collection Agency Act)

Licensee must obtain a CD (certificate of deposit) in the amount required under
Idaho Code § 26-2232, in licensee’s name, FBO (for the benefit of) the Director
of the Idaho Department of Finance.

The issuing bank or credit union must be instructed as follows:

a. The taxpayer identification number (TIN) used for the CD shall be the

licensee’s TIN.
b. Interest on the CD shall be paid to the licensee.
C. The CD shall be automatically renewed for like terms, unless the

Director instructs the bank or credit union issuing the CD to the contrary.

d. The Director shall have the sole right and ability to cash or redeem the
CD, to designate the party to whom the CD proceeds should be paid, or to
release the CD to the licensee.

e. The issuing bank or credit union shall take all steps necessary to ensure
that the CD is not cashed or redeemed by a person other than the
Director, without the Director’s consent.

In the event that the CD is cashed or redeemed by the Director before its maturity
and applied to the licensee’s obligations or liability under the Idaho Collection
Agency Act, the licensee understands and acknowledges that the bank or credit
union issuing the CD may assess its customary early withdrawal penalty, if
applicable.

The licensee shall at all times maintain the CD in accordance with the
requirements of Idaho Code § 26-2232.

The licensee understands and acknowledges that the Director may hold and
control the CD for (i) up to three years following the date when the licensee
discontinues operations, or (ii) up to three years following the licensee’s
replacement of the CD with a satisfactory surety bond.
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Idaho Collection Agency
QUARTERLY NOTIFICATION OF AGENTS / COLLECTORS

AGENCY PERMIT # JUNE 15

SEPTEMBER 15

FILL IN YEAR OF QUARTER BEING REPORTED. COPY THIS FORM AS NEEDED.

DECEMBER 15

Applicant/Permittee agrees to be responsible, under Title 26, Chapter 22, Idaho Code, for acts of Agent(s) while said Agent(s) is employed by the Permittee. Permittee certifies that Agent(s) has
been instructed as to the requirements of the Idaho Collection Agency Act and the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and that Agent(s) has a reasonable understanding of same. V

COLLECTION AGENCY . NAME, DBA ,CITY, STATE:

CERTIFICATION OF ABOVE A AUTHORIZED PRINTED NAME AND SIGNATURE OF PERMITTEE!:

Please type the CITY & SOCIAL DATE DESK NAME $20.00
NEW AGENT NAME STATE SECURITY OF IF USED REGISTRATION
Alphabetical Order Please of office NUMBER BIRTH FEE
LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL SUBMITTED
1
2
3
4
5
TOTAL FEES SUBMITTED ($ 20.00 PER EACH NEW SOLICITOR / COLLECTOR / AGENT ) FOR THIS QUARTER: $

IDAHO COLLECTION AGENCY ACT Idaho Code § 26-2240: Each permit holder shall, with its initial application and each annual renewal, file
with the Director a list of all agents including the name of the agent and other identifying information the Director may require. A fee of
twenty dollars ($20.00) for each listed agent shall accompany the list. The Director shall be notified in writing of any additions to the agent
list no less often than every calendar quarter. A fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) shall be filed with the Director for each additionally identified
agent in the quarterly notification of additions to a licensee's agent list. An agent is not required to be listed, nor the fee paid therefore,

unless the agent acted for the licensee for more than thirty (30) business days.

vV ¥V VvV VvV V¥V V V V VY

INSTRUCTIONS

Quarterly Notification is due June 15, September 15, December 15, and Annual Renewal is due on/before March 15.
Send Quarterly Notification only once per quarter, on or near the date due, only if you have new agent(s) to report.
Do not send name changes or documents.

Do send separate lists of terminated employees.

Submit new (since the previous notification) agents conducting activities under the license with Idaho clients.
Submit ONE check payable to the Department of Finance for $20 for each new agent you are registering.

Use this form or format (copy as needed) which includes all the required information and the required signature.

If acknowledgement of receipt of Quarterly Notification is needed, provide a contact name and email address.

TO CONTACT THE IDAHO CONSUMER FINANCE BUREAU, PHONE: (208) 332-8002; FAX: (208) 332-8096 (Revised: 5/08)



