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May 12, 2008 

 
Dear Idaho Collection Agency Act Licensee: 
 
 The 2008 Idaho Legislature adopted significant changes to the Idaho Collection Agency Act 
(Act) that will go into effect on July 1, 2008.  This letter is to provide you with a summary of some 
of the more significant changes, as well as the enclosed instructions on transitioning from a “Permit” 
to a “License” under the Act. 
 
 Importantly, the Department anticipates that your organization will be able to continue its 
existing activities under its current “Permit” while transitioning to a “License” under the Act.  
However, failure to timely comply with the new requirements, as described in the enclosed 
instructions, may result in loss of authority to engage in the business activities covered by the Act. 
 

Summary of Some of the Amendments to the Idaho Collection Agency Act 
 

1. Elimination of: (i) the “Foreign Permittee” status, (ii) the requirement to maintain an 
office in Idaho, (iii) the pre-license test requirement, and (iv) the $2,500 net worth 
requirement; 

 
2. Addition of a requirement that each licensee under the Act designate a home office as its 

principal location for business activities under the Act, and designate a person with at 
least three (3) years’ experience to be responsible for each office wherein business 
activities under the Act are conducted in Idaho.  Each branch location, from which 
business activities in Idaho are conducted, must be registered with the Director (no fee 
for registration), and licensees must inform the Director of the opening of any branch at 
least thirty (30) days prior to opening, and no later than thirty (30) days after the closing 
of any branch; 

 
3. Elimination of the $2,000 surety bond that was formerly required as indemnification to 

the Department for expenses incurred as a result of investigations, administrative 
proceedings, and prosecutions under the Act.  All licensees under the Act must maintain 
and file with the Director an Idaho-specific surety bond in the amount of $15,000, or two 
times the average monthly net collections for the preceding year computed to the next 
highest one thousand dollars ($1,000), whichever sum is greater, up to a maximum of one 
hundred thousand dollars ($100,000); 

 
4. Consolidation of the definitions of “credit counselor” and “debt counselor” and 

elimination of the requirement that credit counselors must be qualified as exempt 
organizations under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code as a condition of 
licensure in Idaho; 
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5. Requirement that each applicant for a license under the Act, and each licensee at annual 
renewal, shall file with the Director a complete list of its agents/solicitors who contact, or 
will contact, persons in Idaho in connection with the licensee’s business activities under 
the Act (the agent list).  A fee of $20 for each listed agent shall accompany the list.  At 
least every calendar quarter, licensees are required to notify the Director of any additions 
to its agent/solicitor list and pay a fee of $20 for any such new agents/solicitors that acted 
for the licensee for more than thirty (30) business days; 

 
6. Provision that a license under the Act shall remain in full force and effect unless the 

licensee fails to timely satisfy the license renewal requirements by March 15th of each 
year, in which case the license expires by operation of law and a new license application 
is required as a condition of the issuance of a new license.  The application fee for a new 
license is $150, and the annual license renewal fee is $100; 

 
7. Allowance of the collection of a fee (commonly referred to as a “convenience fee”) from 

debtors, when such fee reasonably relates to the actual processing cost of a demand draft 
or other form of electronic payment where the debtor has preauthorized the method of 
payment and has also been notified in advance that payment may be made by alternative 
means not resulting in any processing charge, fee or expense to the debtor; 

 
8. Requirement that debt or credit counselors who do not receive, hold, or disburse debtor 

funds: (i) may not charge for their services more than 20% of the principal amount of the 
debtor’s unsecured debt at the time of contracting for services for the management of 
debt; and (ii) must refund 50% of any collected fees associated with unsettled debt at the 
time of cancellation by a debtor of a debt management services contract prior to 
completion of the contract; 

 
9. Inclusion of “credit repair organization” in the definitional section, together with a 

requirement for licensure, bonding, and a prohibition against charging or receiving any 
consideration for the performance of any credit repair service before such service is fully 
performed; and 

 
10. Provision that Idaho licensed attorneys are exempt from the provisions of the Act to the 

extent that they are retained by their clients to engage in activities authorized by the Act 
and such activities are incidental to the practice of law.  Idaho licensed attorneys are not 
exempt from the Act when conducting activities covered by the Act in a separate 
business. 

 
 Thank you. 
 
      Sincerely, 
 
 
 
      K.C. Schaler 
      Supervising Examiner 
      Idaho Department of Finance 
 
Enclosures 



What Must I Do to Comply With the July 1, 2008 
Changes to the Idaho Collection Agency Act? 

 
If you are an existing “Foreign Permittee” in Idaho 

(Your existing Permit number begins with a “CFP” or “CDF” designation) 
 

1. As soon as possible, but by no later than by June 30, 2008, complete and return the 
enclosed Transition Checklist, together with the following: 

   
a. A surety bond (form also enclosed) in the amount of $15,000. A 

Certificate of Deposit (CD) in lieu of the bond is allowed by Idaho law.  
Please see the enclosed instructions for this option; 

 
b. An agent/solicitor list together with a $20 annual fee for each such 

agent/solicitor (one check covering all listed agents will suffice); and 
 
c. Designation of a natural person, with at least three (3) years’ experience 

in the business being conducted under the Act who is responsible for the 
activities at each office licensed or registered under the Act. 

 
2. No additional license application fee is required of existing “Foreign Permittees” in 

connection with the transition from a “Permit” to a “License” if the enclosed 
Transition Checklist is completed and delivered, together with the above listed 
items, to the Department of Finance on or before June 30, 2008.  Submission by 
June 15, 2008, is strongly encouraged to allow your organization adequate time 
to cure any deficiencies prior to July 1, 2008. 

 
 

If you are an existing “Collection Agency Permittee,” “Debt Counselor 
Permittee,” or “Credit Counselor Permittee” in Idaho 

(Your existing Permit number begins “CCA” or “CDC”) 
 

1. As soon as possible, but by no later than by June 30, 2008, complete and return the 
enclosed Transition Checklist whereon your organization must designate a natural 
person, with at least three (3) years’ experience in the business being conducted 
under the Act to be responsible for the activities at each office licensed or registered 
under the Act; 
 

2. To transition from a “Permit” to a “License,” no additional license application fee is 
required of existing collection agency or debt/credit counselor permittees, and no 
disruption in current business activities in Idaho is anticipated so long as the 
enclosed Transition Checklist is timely completed and delivered to the Department.  
Submission by June 15, 2008, is strongly encouraged to allow your organization 
adequate time to cure any deficiencies prior to July 1, 2008. 
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IDAHO FOREIGN PERMITTEE COLLECTION AGENCY AND DEBT/CREDIT COUNSELOR  

2008 TRANSITION CHECKLIST  
 

For use with permit numbers beginning with “CFP-” and “CDF-” 
To be filed by June 30, 2008 

 
The following items must be provided to the Department in order to complete the transition process from 
permittee to licensee to be effective July 1, 2008: Submission by June 15, 2008 is strongly encouraged. 
 
1.      _______________________________________________________________________________________ 
     Legal Name of Company       Phone 
 
     _______________________________________________________________________________________ 
     “Main” Office Physical Address       City, State, ZIP 
 
     ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
      Mailing Address (if different)       EMAIL 
 
 
2.      DBAs or Fictitious Business Names:  List any dba or fictitious business name to be used in Idaho.  If any dba 

name does not currently appear on your permit, provide a file-stamped copy of the Certificate of Assumed 
Business Name issued by the Idaho Secretary of State. 

 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
3.    Branches:  List all branch locations from which your organization’s Idaho business activities are directly or 

indirectly conducted.  Use additional pages as necessary. 
 
       __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Address       City, State,  ZIP 
 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Phone      Fax    Email 
 
   
       __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Address       City, State,  ZIP 
 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Phone      Fax    Email 
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4.      Responsible Person in Charge (RPIC):  This person must demonstrate a minimum of three (3) years’ 
experience specifically related to the type of business conducted by the licensee under the Idaho Collection 
Agency Act.  This person does not have to be an owner, officer, member, partner or director.  This person does 
not have to physically work from the main licensed office location; however, if the RPIC works from any other 
location, a toll-free number to reach this person during normal hours must be provided to Idaho debtors and the 
Department.   

 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Name of Responsible Person in Charge    Physical Business Address   

    
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Phone/Toll Free Number    Fax   email 
   
  The following items may be used to demonstrate the required experience in the business to be conducted for the 

RPIC listed above: 
 
   a.   A résume that includes detailed job descriptions, duties or experience in the business to be conducted 

 under this license; or 
   b.  Evidence of successful passing of the Idaho Collection Agency Qualifying Officer Exam by the 

 designated RPIC if the activity to be conducted is collection activity.  Provide month/year test was passed 
 _________________________; or 

   c.    A notarized certification, signed by someone with signature authority for the licensee that attests
 to the required experience of the designated RPIC. 

 
  

5.  List of Agents and Agent Fees:  Provide a list of agents/solicitors who conduct licensable activity in the state of 
Idaho for or on behalf of the licensee (use additional pages as necessary).  Agents that have acted for or on 
behalf of the licensee for more than 30 business days will need to provide the annual $20 agent fee per agent 
payable to the Idaho Department of Finance. 

 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Name        “Alias” Name(s) Used in Idaho  
 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Physical Work Address                                               City, State, ZIP    
 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Name        “Alias” Name(s) Used in Idaho  
 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Physical Work Address                                               City, State, ZIP    
 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Name        “Alias” Name(s) Used in Idaho  
 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Physical Work Address                                               City, State, ZIP    
 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Name        “Alias” Name(s) Used in Idaho  
 
  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Physical Work Address                                               City, State, ZIP 
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6.  Surety Bond or Certificate of Deposit:  Bond or CD must be in the minimum amount of $15,000.  The 
original bond or CD must be filed with the Department. The bond must be fully executed by both the Surety 
Company and licensee.  A CD must be payable to the Idaho Department of Finance, with interest payable to the 
licensee.  A CD must remain in place for a period of three (3) years after cessation of Idaho licensure.  
Instructions for a CD in lieu of surety bond are included with this packet and are also available on the 
Department’s website at http://finance.idaho.gov in the “collection agency forms” section.  NOTE:  The name 
of the principal insured on the bond/CD must match EXACTLY to the name shown on your license and 
the entity filing with the Idaho Secretary of State. 

 
 
7.       Trust and Operating Bank Accounts:   Provide the name and address of the financial institution (if branch,           
       provide name) where the licensee’s general operating and client trust accounts are located: 
 
                     __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
       Bank Name (branch name if applicable) 
 
        __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
        Address      City    State/ZIP 

 
      Trust Account Number _______________________________________________________________________    
 
      General Operating Business Account Number _____________________________________________________ 

 
 
I acknowledge that information required at the time of application, application transition and renewal shall be updated and 
filed with the Director of the Department of Finance in a timely manner and as necessary to keep the information current. 

 
         
        __________________________________________________ 
        Signature of Authorized Person for the Licensee 
 
        __________________________________________________ 
        Printed Name     
 
        __________________________________________________ 
        Date     Phone Number 
 
    
 

 
 

Please submit all items simultaneously.   
  

Return this Checklist with your transition package. 
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STATE OF IDAHO    BOND #   
 
Effective date______________________20____      

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE 
Consumer Finance Bureau 
800 Park Blvd., Ste 200 
Boise, ID 83712 

                       P.O. Box 83720 
         Boise, ID 83720-0031 
 
 

SURETY BOND FOR PERMITTEE UNDER THE IDAHO COLLECTION AGENCY ACT 
Pursuant to Idaho Code § 26-2232 

($15,000.00 minimum) 
 
___________________________________________, Principal herein, desires to engage in business as a permittee under the Idaho 
Collection Agency Act, Idaho Code § 26-2221, et seq. (the Act), under the name shown above, and as such is required pursuant to 
§ 26-2232 of the Act to execute this bond to the State of Idaho. 
 
NOW, THEREFOR, said Principal and _________________________________________, as Surety, a corporation duly incorporated 
under the laws of the state of ___________________________________ and authorized to do business in Idaho as a surety, are held 
and firmly bound unto the State of Idaho, for the use and benefit of whom it may concern, in the sum of 
$_________________________, lawful money of the United States of America, for the payment of which we hereby bind ourselves, 
our and each of our heirs, assigns, executors and administrators, jointly and severally, firmly by these presents.   The effective date of 
this surety bond is: __________________________________. 
 
In any case where the Principal or its representatives has failed to account for and pay over the proceeds of any collection made or 
money received for payment or prorating to creditors, or has failed to return to a debtor any sum received that was not to be applied to 
his debts, the Surety shall be obligated to the Department of Finance, State of Idaho, under this bond therefor, up to the limit of this 
bond.  Further, the creditor or debtor shall have in addition to all other legal remedies a right of action in its own name on this bond, 
without the necessity of joining the Principal in the action. 
 
The Surety may cancel this bond provided that the Surety shall provide thirty (30) days’ prior written notice of the cancellation of this 
bond to the Principal and to the Director of the Idaho Department of Finance.  Such notice shall be by registered or certified mail with 
request for a return receipt and addressed to the Principal at its main office, and to the Director of the Idaho Department of Finance at 
the address set forth above. 
 
In no event shall the liability of the Surety under this bond and all claims against the bond exceed the face amount of this bond. 
 
 
       _________________________________________________________ 
       (PRINCIPAL) 
 
 
       _________________________________________________________ 
       (SIGNATURE OF OFFICER OF THE PRINCIPAL)                DATE 
 
 
       _________________________________________________________ 
       (NAME OF SURETY COMPANY) 
 
 
       _________________________________________________________ 
       (SIGNATURE OF OFFICER OF SURETY COMPANY)        DATE 
 
 
       _________________________________________________________ 
       (TITLE OF OFFICER OF SURETY COMPANY) 
 
 
       ________________________________________________________ 
       (NAME, TITLE AND TELEPHONE NUMBER OF CONTACT 
       FOR SURETY) 

Rev 5/08 



 
 
 
 

PROCEDURES – CD IN LIEU OF BOND 
(Idaho Collection Agency Act) 

 
1. Licensee must obtain a CD (certificate of deposit) in the amount required under 

Idaho Code § 26-2232, in licensee’s name, FBO (for the benefit of) the Director 
of the Idaho Department of Finance. 

 
2. The issuing bank or credit union must be instructed as follows: 
 
 a. The taxpayer identification number (TIN) used for the CD shall be the  
  licensee’s TIN. 
 
 b. Interest on the CD shall be paid to the licensee. 
 

c. The CD shall be automatically renewed for like terms, unless the 
 Director instructs the bank or credit union issuing the CD to the contrary. 

 
d. The Director shall have the sole right and ability to cash or redeem the        

CD, to designate the party to whom the CD proceeds should be paid, or to 
release the CD to the licensee.  

 
e. The issuing bank or credit union shall take all steps necessary to ensure 
 that the CD is not cashed or redeemed by a person other than the 
 Director, without the Director’s consent. 

 
3. In the event that the CD is cashed or redeemed by the Director before its maturity 

and applied to the licensee’s obligations or liability under the Idaho Collection 
Agency Act, the licensee understands and acknowledges that the bank or credit 
union issuing the CD may assess its customary early withdrawal penalty, if 
applicable.   

 
4. The licensee shall at all times maintain the CD in accordance with the 
 requirements of Idaho Code § 26-2232. 
 
5. The licensee understands and acknowledges that the Director may hold and 

control the CD for (i) up to three years following the date when the licensee 
discontinues operations, or (ii) up to three years following the licensee’s 
replacement of the CD with a satisfactory surety bond. 

 

Rev 5/08  
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Idaho Collection Agency 
QUARTERLY NOTIFICATION OF AGENTS / COLLECTORS   

 

AGENCY PERMIT #_________     JUNE 15_____     SEPTEMBER 15_____    DECEMBER 15_____ 
 

 FILL IN YEAR OF QUARTER BEING REPORTED.    COPY THIS FORM AS NEEDED. 
 
 
Applicant/Permittee agrees to be responsible, under Title 26, Chapter 22, Idaho Code, for acts of Agent(s) while said Agent(s) is employed by the Permittee. Permittee certifies that Agent(s) has 
been instructed as to the requirements of the I aho Collection Agency Act and the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and that Agent(s) has a reasonable understanding of same.  ∇ d

COLLECTION AGENCY :  NAME, DBA ,CITY, STATE:  
CERTIFICATION OF ABOVE  ∆  AUTHORIZED PRINTED NAME AND SIGNATURE OF PERMITTEE: 

  

 
 

 
 
Please type the  
NEW AGENT NAME 
Alphabetical Order Please 
LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL 

 
CITY & 
STATE 
of office 

 
SOCIAL 

SECURITY 
NUMBER 

 
DATE 

OF 
BIRTH 

 
DESK NAME 
IF USED 

 
$20.00 
REGISTRATION 
FEE 
SUBMITTED 

 
1 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
2 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
3 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
4 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
5 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

TOTAL FEES SUBMITTED ( $ 20.00  PER EACH NEW SOLICITOR / COLLECTOR / AGENT ) FOR THIS QUARTER: 
 
$ 

 
IDAHO COLLECTION AGENCY ACT Idaho Code § 26-2240: Each permit holder shall, with its initial application and each annual renewal, file 
with the Director a list of all agents including the name of the agent and other identifying information the Director may require.  A fee of 
twenty dollars ($20.00) for each listed agent shall accompany the list. The Director shall be notified in writing of any additions to the agent 
list no less often than every calendar quarter.  A fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) shall be filed with the Director for each additionally identified 
agent in the quarterly notification of additions to a licensee's agent list.  An agent is not required to be listed, nor the fee paid therefore, 
unless the agent acted for the licensee for more than thirty (30) business days. 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 
¾   Quarterly Notification is due June 15, September 15, December 15, and Annual Renewal is due on/before March 15. 
 
¾   Send Quarterly Notification only once per quarter, on or near the date due, only if you have new agent(s) to report. 
 
¾   Do not send name changes or documents. 
 
¾   Do send separate lists of terminated employees. 
 
¾   Submit new (since the previous notification) agents conducting activities  under the license with Idaho clients. 
 
¾   Submit ONE check payable to the Department of Finance for $20 for each new agent you are registering.  
 
¾   Use this form or format (copy as needed) which includes all the required information and the required signature. 
 
¾   If acknowledgement of receipt of Quarterly Notification is needed, provide a contact name and email address. 

 
¾   TO CONTACT THE IDAHO CONSUMER FINANCE BUREAU, PHONE: (208) 332-8002; FAX: (208) 332-8096 (Revised:  5/08) 


