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All Idaho mortgage loan originator licenses became conditional on July 1, 2009, with the passage of the 

Idaho SAFE Act.  This means that if the requirements of the SAFE Act are not timely met, the license will 

terminate.  These requirements include: (1) pre-license education; (2) taking and passing national and Idaho 

state tests; (3) criminal background checks; and (4) credit report checks. 

 

 Category 1: For those individuals who were issued a conditional Idaho mortgage loan 

originator license during the time period from July 1, 2009, through July 31, 2010, the deadline 

to meet the above SAFE Act requirements is midnight, July 31, 2010; and 

 

 Category 2: For those individuals who held an Idaho mortgage loan originator license on or 

before June 30, 2009, and timely and successfully completed the renewal process for 2010, the 

deadline to meet the above SAFE Act requirements is midnight, December 31, 2010. 

 

o Note:  The credit report requirement of the SAFE Act will not be available 

in the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLSR) until 

October 2010.  Therefore, this is the ONLY requirement that will not be 

mandatory on July 31, 2010, by licensees required to meet the July 31, 

2010, deadline. 

 

Beginning August 1, 2010, no Idaho mortgage loan originator license application will be approved until 

pre-license education, national and Idaho state component testing and criminal background checks are fully 

completed and satisfy the requirements for licensing.  When credit report checks are available through the 

NMLSR, credit reports will also be required prior to license issuance. 

 

Pre-License Education Requirements 

 

 The Idaho SAFE Act requires that Idaho licensed mortgage loan originators (MLOs) complete pre-

licensure education.  In order to meet pre-license education requirements, Idaho licensed MLOs must complete 

20 hours of NMLSR-approved education, which includes the following: 

 

a. 3 hours of federal law and regulations; 

b. 3 hours of ethics, including instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending 

issues; 

c. 2 hours of training related to lending standards for the nontraditional mortgage product 

marketplace; 

d. 2 hours of Idaho state specific law; and 

e. 10 hours of undefined (elective) instruction related to mortgage loan origination. 

  



 
 

 MLOs that held an “approved” Idaho mortgage loan originator license on or before June 30, 2009, and 

successfully renewed their licenses for 2010 may be eligible to take part in an education certification process 

that allows them to use their past Idaho-approved continuing education credits toward their 20-hour pre-license 

education credit requirement.  Eligible credits are for courses taken between October 1, 2005, and December 31, 

2009, from Idaho-approved providers and for which a completion certificate was provided to the Department by 

April 30, 2010.  MLOs that become certified in a state other than Idaho will still be required to complete the 

two (2) hours of Idaho state law pre-license education credits by the applicable deadlines. 

 

 The Department STRONGLY RECOMMENDS that MLOs immediately review their continuing 

education records.  Loan originator licensees will only be certified by one state for the twenty (20) hour pre-

license education requirement.  Continuing education credit hours accrued in multiple states cannot be combined 

to meet this requirement.  Each MLO is responsible to ensure that he or she has timely completed the state-

specific requirements for each state in which the MLO is licensed. 

 

National and Idaho Component Testing Requirements 

 

 All licensees are required to pass the National Component of the SAFE MLO Test with a score of 75 

percent or greater. 

 

 All licensees are required to pass the Idaho State Component with a score of 75 percent or greater. 

 

Criminal Background Check Requirements 

 

 Mortgage Loan Originators must perform the following tasks prior to the applicable deadlines: 

 

a. request a criminal background check through the NMLSR and complete the fingerprint process; and 

b. if applicable, provide documentation necessary to address any issues disclosed on the background 

check prior to the applicable deadline.  Information required may include, but is not limited to, 

conviction and sentencing court records, verification of sentencing requirements, etc. 

 

Credit Report Requirement 

 

 Credit reports are not expected to be available through the NMLSR until October 2010.  Therefore, 

Idaho MLOs subject to the July 31, 2010, deadline for satisfying SAFE Act requirements will NOT be at risk of 

losing their conditional MLO licenses solely for not providing a credit report by the July 31, 2010, deadline.  

During the 2011 license renewal process beginning on November 1, 2010, all MLO licensees and company-

level control persons (MU2) will be required to authorize a credit report through the NMLSR. 

 

Other Important Information 

 

 Information about SAFE Act requirements, such as fees, course and test scheduling, fingerprint 

processing and deadlines for each state can be found on the NMLSR Resource Center at: 

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/profreq/Pages/default.aspx.   

 

The Idaho Department of Finance has added a tool on its website to assist companies and their mortgage 

loan originator licensees in tracking their completion of SAFE Act requirements.  That tool consists of a new 

column entitled “SAFE Reqs Met,” and can be found at: 

http://finance.idaho.gov/Mortgage/LoanOriginatorLicense.aspx.  Once at the site, click the “Show” button in the 

right-hand column to view the status of SAFE Act requirements.  Note that each completed requirement will be 

designated by a check mark. 

  

 If you have any questions about the Idaho SAFE Act requirements, please contact the Licensing Section 

of the Idaho Consumer Finance Bureau at: (208) 332-8002, via fax at (208) 332-8096, or via email at:  

mortgage@finance.idaho.gov.  Questions about the use or navigation of the NMLSR system should be directed 

to the NMLSR Call Center at: (240) 386-4444.  

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/profreq/Pages/default.aspx
http://finance.idaho.gov/Mortgage/LoanOriginatorLicense.aspx
mailto:mortgage@finance.idaho.gov


 

 

Selected excerpts from the Idaho SAFE Act of 2009 

 

For a complete copy of the Idaho SAFE Act and Idaho Residential Mortgage Practices Act 

please go to: 

http://finance.idaho.gov/ConsumerFinance/Documents/Residential_Mortgage_Practices_Act

_2009.pdf  

 

 

26-31-304. LICENSE AND REGISTRATION REQUIRED -— EXEMPTIONS. (1) 

Unless specifically exempt under subsection (3) of this section, an individual shall not engage 

in the business of a mortgage loan originator with respect to any dwelling located in this state 

without first obtaining and maintaining annually a license under this part. Each licensed 

mortgage loan originator shall register with and maintain a valid unique identifier issued by 

the NMLSR.  

(2) In order to facilitate an orderly transition to licensing and minimize disruption in the 

mortgage marketplace, the effective dates for subsection (1) of this section are as follows:  

(a) For all individuals other than those described in subsection (2)(b) of this section, the 

effective date is July 31, 2010, or such later date approved by the secretary of the U.S. 

department of housing and urban development, pursuant to the authority granted under P.L. 

110-289, section 1508(a).  

(b) For all individuals licensed as mortgage loan originators at the time of the enactment of 

this part, the effective date is January 1, 2011, or such later date approved by the secretary of 

the U.S. department of housing and urban development, pursuant to the authority granted 

under P.L. 110-289, section 1508(a). 

 

26-31-305. LICENSE AND REGISTRATION APPLICATION. (1) Applicants for a 

license under this part shall apply through the NMLSR in a form prescribed by the director. 

Each form shall include such content as the director may reasonably require, shall be updated 

as necessary to keep the information current and shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable 

application fee of two hundred dollars ($200). 

 

…(3) Applicants for licensure under this part shall submit the following to the NMLSR: (a) 

Fingerprints for submission to the federal bureau of investigation, and any governmental 

agency or entity authorized to receive such information for a state, national and international 

criminal history background check; and  

(b) Personal history and experience in a form prescribed by the NMLSR, including the 

authorization for the NMLSR and the director to obtain the following:  

(i) An independent credit report obtained from a consumer reporting agency described in 

section 603(p) of the fair credit reporting act; and  

(ii) Information related to any administrative, civil or criminal findings by any governmental 

jurisdiction. 

 

26-31-306. ISSUANCE OF LICENSE. (1) The director shall not issue a mortgage loan 

originator license under this part unless the director first makes the following findings:  

(a) The applicant has never had a mortgage loan originator license, or other mortgage related 

license, revoked in any governmental jurisdiction. If such revocation was formally vacated, 

then it shall not be deemed a revocation for purposes of this section.  

(b) The applicant has not been convicted of, found guilty of or pled guilty or nolo contendere 

to, a felony in a domestic, foreign or military court:  

(i) During the seven (7) year period immediately preceding the date of the application for 

licensing or registration; or  

 



 

 

(ii) At any time preceding such date of application, if such felony involved an act of fraud, 

dishonesty, or a breach of trust, or money laundering;  

 

Any pardon of a conviction shall not be deemed a conviction for purposes of this section.  

(c) The applicant has demonstrated financial responsibility, character and general fitness 

sufficient to command the confidence of the community and to warrant a determination that 

the mortgage loan originator will operate honestly, fairly, and efficiently within the purposes 

of this part. The director shall not base a license application denial under this part solely on a 

license applicant’s credit score or credit report. For purposes of this section, a license 

applicant is not financially responsible if he has shown a disregard for the management of his  

personal financial affairs. A determination that an individual has not shown financial 

responsibility may include, but is not limited to, consideration of the following:  

(i) A current outstanding judgment, except a judgment issued solely as a result of medical 

expenses;  

(ii) A current outstanding tax lien or other government lien or filing;  

(iii) A foreclosure within the past three (3) years; or  

(iv) A pattern of delinquent accounts within the past three (3) years.  

(d) The applicant has successfully completed the prelicensing education requirement pursuant 

to section 26-31-307, Idaho Code.  

(e) The applicant has passed a written test that meets the test requirement pursuant to section 

26-31-308, Idaho Code.  

(f) The applicant has met the mortgage recovery fund requirement pursuant to section 26-31-

110, Idaho Code.  

(g) The applicant has provided information on the application as required in section 26-31-

305, Idaho Code.  

(2) The director may conduct investigations as he deems necessary to determine the existence 

of the requirements listed in this section.  

 

 

This unofficial excerpt of the Idaho Residential Mortgage Practices Act was prepared 

by the Idaho Department of Finance as a service to its licensees. No portion of it may be 

published or repackaged for commercial sale. 


