The Idaho Residential Mortgage Practices Act (IRMPA) charges the Idaho Department
of Finance with the responsibility for licensing and regulating the mortgage related
activities of mortgage lenders and mortgage brokers, mortgage loan modification
companies, independent contractor mortgage loan processors and mortgage underwriters
and mortgage loan originators.
The following provides basic licensing information as detailed in the IRMPA:
- Licensees are not required to maintain a physical location in Idaho.
- There is no "one time" exemption for individuals regularly engaged in mortgage brokering/lending
- Exempt entities include, but may not be limited to, certain financial institutions,
governmental agencies, wholesale lenders, as well as licensed attorneys and accountants
under specific conditions.
A brief summary of licensee qualifications include:
- $350 application fee,
- $250 recovery fund payment for the “main” office; $150 recovery fund payment for
each additional Idaho-licensed branch office,
- Completed application,
- The individual in charge of each office must have a minimum of three years experience
in residential mortgage brokering/lending. The designated Qualified Person in Charge
(QPIC) is subject to eight (8) hours of continuing education annually beginning
- Registration with the Idaho Secretary of State's Office.
All mortgage licensing is handled through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System
and Registry (NMLSR). Information pertaining to testing, education and background
checks may be found on the NMLSR website at:
in the Professional Requirements
To get started, please go to the
for complete information and filing requirements.
Questions pertaining to Idaho licensing requirements may be directed to 208-332-8002.
Questions pertaining to the use and navigation of the NMLSR may be directed to the
NMLSR Call Center at (240) 386-4444
Mortgage Section Online Resources: