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HOLIDAY SPENDING REVIVES ADVANCE FEE LOAN SCHEMES 
STATE ORDERS TWO COMPANIES TO CEASE BUSINESS IN IDAHO 

 
Boise, Idaho....Gavin M. Gee, Director of the Idaho Department of Finance, advised Idaho 
residents of a resurgence of advance fee loan schemes. Consumers are answering newspaper 
advertisements, postcards and ad flyers sent in the mail. The Better Business Bureau of Boise 
reported that they received 337 complaints and inquiries involving advance fee loan schemes for 
the first 11 months in 1997 and a total of 179 in 1996. Likewise, the BBB in Idaho Falls reported 
over 220 such calls in 1997. 
 
As a result of recent complaints and investigations, the Department today announced it issued 
Cease and Desist Orders against two companies, one in-state and one out-of-state, offering to 
make or arrange loans for an advance fee in violation of Idaho collection agency laws and other 
state laws. 
 
The Orders have been issued against Blue Sky Credit, Wade Chassin and Ken Chassin of Arco, 
Idaho and RB+ Financial of Los Angeles, California. These companies purportedly offer to help 
consumers who are seeking debt consolidation and other consumer loans. Both companies 
require that fees be paid in advance in order to process these loans. The Orders announced today 
require both companies to cease conducting an advance fee business in violation of Idaho law. 
Typically, once consumers contact these companies they are quickly told that the loan is 
approved and that a processing fee will complete the application so that the check can be 
delivered. Fees for such loans range from $25 to $400. The consumer is often given strong 
assurances that the loan is forthcoming. However, Gee noted,  "None of the companies we've 
investigated over the past several years has ever granted a loan or arranged a loan for their 
customers. And when the consumer realizes that there will be no loan, it is often too late to 
obtain refunds of advance fees because the company has disappeared." 
      
Idaho law requires that those who promise to arrange credit for others be licensed with the 
Department of Finance. None of the respondents are licensed. 
 
In Idaho, it is illegal for any person or business, other than a lender licensed by the state or 
federal government, to charge fees in advance for loans. Moreover, the Idaho Loan Broker Act 



makes such practice a felony, punishable by imprisonment up to five years and fines of up to 
$5,000 or both. 
 
The Department of Finance advises all persons not to send fees in advance for loans, lines of 
credit or credit cards or to any business promising to arrange credit or financing. Any persons 
who have been contacted by companies soliciting advance fees for loans or financing are 
encouraged to contact the Department of Finance at (208) 332-8002 or toll-free in Idaho 1-888-
346-3378. 
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