
Payday Loan Violations of the Act Continued 

 Having outstanding payday loans to a borrower 

in excess of 25% of a borrower’s gross monthly 
income or $1,000, whichever is less 

 Engaging in unfair or deceptive acts or practices 

in advertising or conducting business 

 Accepting any property, title to property, or any 

other type of collateral, aside from a post-dated 

check or its electronic equivalent, for a payday 
loan 

 Renewing a payday loan more than three (3) 

consecutive times.  After three (3) renewals the 
loan must be paid in full before another payday 
loan is extended 

 Imposing any other fee to a payday loan borrow-

er other than the agreed-upon finance charge 

 Failing to offer a 60-day extended payment plan 

with four (4) equal installment payments once 
per consecutive 12-month period for a payday 
loan borrower when requested by the borrower 
before the payday loan is in default 

 Imposing any additional fee to a payday loan 

borrower during a required 60-day extended 
payment plan 

The Idaho Department of Finance is the regulatory 
and licensing authority for entities whose activities 
are regulated by the Idaho Credit Code, Idaho Resi-
dential Mortgage Practices Act, Idaho Mortgage Com-
pany Act, and the Idaho Collection Agency Act. The 
goal of the Department is to assure the availability 

and quality of consumer financial services, and lawful 
debt collection practices in Idaho. 

For Idahoans who have a complaint against a licen-
see, the Department offers a consumer affairs re-
sponse program. The consumer affairs response pro-
gram relies largely on the cooperation of both parties 
to resolve a dispute and complaints are often re-
solved through this process. However, as determined 
solely by the Department, complaints may also result 
in civil or administrative enforcement actions.  
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PAYDAY LOANS IN 
IDAHO 

 

 

IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE 

800 Park Boulevard, Suite 200 

Boise, Idaho  83712 

Telephone: (208) 332-8000  

Toll Free in Idaho: (888) 346-3378 

 

The Idaho Department of Finance maintains a list of 
its current licensees, including payday lenders, on its 
website (http://finance.idaho.gov). 

 

IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE 

  

MISSION STATEMENT 

 

To aggressively promote access to vigorous, 

healthy and comprehensive financial services for 

Idaho citizens.  This is accomplished through pru-

dent and efficient oversight of financial institutions, 

investment opportunities and credit transactions. 



A payday loan is a cash advance secured by a per-
sonal check or electronic transfer authorization. 
Most payday loans work like this: Say you need to 
borrow $100 for two weeks. You write a personal 
check for $120; $20 is the fee to borrow the money. 
The lender agrees to hold your check until your next 
payday. When that day arrives, either the lender 
deposits the check or you renew the loan and are 
charged $20 more to extend the financing 14 more 
days. If you agree to electronic payments instead of 
a check on your next payday the lender would debit 
the full amount of the loan from your checking ac-
count electronically, or extend the loan for an addi-
tional $20. The cost of the initial $100 loan is a $20 
finance charge, which works out to an annual per-
centage rate of 521 percent. If you renew the loan 
three times, the finance charge would climb to $80 
to borrow the $100. 

Payday loans are regulated under the Idaho Credit 
Code by the Idaho Department of Finance. The De-
partment of Finance urges borrowers who may be 
considering a payday loan to become aware of what 
their rights are under the law, and consider all 
choices and alternatives before entering into a con-
tract.  

ALTERNATIVES AND CHOICES: 

Borrowers in need of cash may be wise to consider 
options and compare loan fees offered by other 
lenders before borrowing. 

When shopping for a loan, borrowers should always 
look for the lowest annual percentage rate (APR).   
Payday loans are likely to include the highest APRs. 
Options for lower APRs may include: 

 Banks, credit unions, or smaller loan companies 

 Employers 

 Local government programs 

 Family members 

If a payday loan is your chosen option, the Depart-
ment cautions you to borrow only as much as you 
can afford to pay with your next paycheck and still 
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have enough to make it to the next payday. Payday 
loan fees average about $20 for every $100 borrowed 
for a fourteen day period. Annualized, that amounts 
to a 521 percent annual interest rate. 

If you are unable to meet your payday loan obliga-
tion, contact your lender before your payday loan is 
in default and request a no-cost 60-day extended 
payment plan with at least four (4) equal installments 
which, by law, the payday lender is required to offer 

you once per 12 months.  Borrowers also may want 
to seek the assistance of a licensed credit or debt 
counselor who can provide service to debtors in the 
management of their debts. Credit/debt counselors 
operating in Idaho are required to be licensed by the 
Idaho Department of Finance. A listing of licensed 
credit/debt counselors can be found on the Depart-
ment’s website at http://finance.idaho.gov.  

PAYDAY LOAN REQUIREMENTS UNDER FEDER-
AL AND STATE LAW: 

Payday lenders doing business in Idaho are regulated 

by the federal Truth in Lending Act (Regulation Z) 
and the Idaho Credit Code. Truth-in-Lending laws 
require disclosures to be made to borrowers in plain 
language and in a conspicuous manner. In addition, 
Truth-in-Lending requirements mirror many of Ida-
ho’s requirements as outlined below. 

Idaho law requires the following from payday loan 
companies doing business in Idaho: 

Payday lenders doing business in Idaho must be li-
censed before offering payday loans (A payday loan 
made in Idaho in violation of licensing requirements 
is void, uncollectable and unenforceable) 

Payday loans are limited to 25% of a borrower’s 
gross monthly income or $1,000 

Each licensee must post a notice of fee costs, ex-
pressed in a dollar amount as a cost per $100 

Payday lenders must provide the following disclosures 
to borrowers in 12-point capitalized and bold type: 

a. Payday loans are intended to address short-term, 
not long-term, financial needs; 

b. You will be required to pay additional fees if 
the payday loan is renewed rather than paid in 
full when due; 

c. You have the right to rescind the payday loan 
at no cost no later than the end of the next 
business day following the day on which the 
payday loan is made; 

d. Payday loans may contain high-cost features, 

and borrowers should consider alternative low-
er-cost loans; 

e. If you believe that the lender has violated the 
law, you may file a written complaint with the 
Idaho Department of Finance.  Filing a com-
plaint does not limit nor impair any rights you 
may have against the lender; and 

f. You have a one-time right during any consecu-
tive twelve (12) month period to convert a 
payday loan into an extended payment plan 
with no additional fees. 

Payday lenders may charge an agreed-upon fee for 

a payday loan.  That fee must be expressed in a 
dollar amount and annual percentage rate in the 
contract.  

PAYDAY LOAN VIOLATIONS OF THE ACT: 

Payday loan companies doing business in Idaho are 
prohibited from: 

 Making a payday loan in Idaho in violation of 

Idaho’s payday loan licensing requirements 

 Making a payday loan to any borrower in an 

amount greater than 25% of the borrower’s 
gross monthly income or $1,000, whichever is 
less 

 Accepting payment for a payday loan through 

the proceeds of another payday loan made by 
the same payday lender 

 Making more than two (2) re-presentments of 

a borrower’s check, or the electronic equiva-
lent, to a financial institution for payment of 
the borrower’s payday loan obligation 


