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TO: All Idaho Mortgage Broker, Mortgage Lender and Mortgage 

Loan Originator Licensees 

 

FROM:   K.C. Schaler, Supervising Examiner/Licensing  

 

DATE:   December 1, 2009 

 

RE:   Idaho Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education 

Certification Deadline and Requirements 
 

 

Mortgage loan originators required to be licensed in Idaho must accrue twenty (20) hours 

of pre-license education credits, including two (2) hours specific to Idaho law, by the following 

deadlines to avoid interruption in licensure: 

 

 For those who obtained their Idaho loan originator license on or 

before June 30, 2009, the deadline to accrue pre-license education 

credits is December 31, 2010; and 

 

 For those who obtain an Idaho loan originator license between July 

1, 2009, and July 31, 2010, the deadline to accrue pre-license 

education credits is July 31, 2010. 

 

Education Certification Process 

 

 Loan originators that had an “Approved” Idaho mortgage loan originator license on or 

before June 30, 2009 are eligible to take part in an education certification process that allows 

them to utilize their past Idaho-approved continuing education credits towards their 20-hour pre-

license education credit requirement.  Eligible credits must be for courses obtained from 

providers that were approved in Idaho at the time the course was taken, between October 2005 

and December 31, 2009.  Credits may be combined if the loan originator held more than one 

loan originator license during this time period due to license expiration or withdrawal. 

 

 Idaho-approved continuing education courses will not be available AFTER 

DECEMBER 31, 2009.  To meet the education credit certification deadline, loan originator 

licensees MUST complete the required minimum twenty (20) hours of continuing education 

credits, including two (2) credit hours of Idaho law, by December 31, 2009.  Otherwise, loan 

originator licensees will have to take the full twenty (20) hours of NMLS-approved pre-license 

education by December 31, 2010.  Loan originator licensees who fail to meet the December 31, 

2009, certification deadline will not be able to use their previously accrued state-approved 

continuing education courses toward their 20-hour pre-license education credit requirement. 

 

 



 
 

 

 It is STRONGLY RECOMMENDED that mortgage loan originator licensees 

immediately review their continuing education records.  Loan originators should check with the 

various states they are licensed in to determine whether they have met state-specific education 

requirements.  A loan originator licensee will be certified by only one state for the SAFE Act 

twenty (20) hour pre-license education requirement.  Continuing education credit hours accrued 

in multiple states cannot be combined to meet the twenty (20) hours. 

 

 Loan Originator licensees that are certified for the core twenty (20) hour SAFE Act 

education requirement by a state other than Idaho, without inclusion of the required two (2) 

credit hours of Idaho law, will be required to take two (2) credit hours of Idaho law prior to 

renewing their licenses in 2010. 

 

 Idaho mortgage loan originator licensees that successfully participate in the education 

certification process, and successfully renew their license by December 31, 2009, will NOT be 

required to obtain the eight (8) hours of annual continuing education credits until calendar year 

2011. 

 

 Idaho mortgage loan originator licensees not eligible for the certification process should 

note the continuing education start dates set forth below: 

 

 Those who obtained, or will obtain, their Idaho loan originator 

license on or after July 1, 2009, AND who complete their twenty 

(20) hours of NMLS-approved pre-license education by December 

31, 2009, must satisfy the eight (8) hour annual continuing 

education credit requirement during calendar year 2010. 

 

 Those who obtained, or will obtain, their Idaho loan originator 

license on or after July 1, 2009, AND who complete their twenty 

(20) hours of NMLS-approved pre-license education by July 31, 

2010, must satisfy the eight (8) hour annual continuing education 

credit requirement during calendar year 2011. 

 

 The Idaho Department of Finance has set up a tool in the loan originator approved license 

portion of its website to assist companies and loan originator licensees track their SAFE Act 

requirements.  A new column entitled “SAFE Reqs Met” has been added to the online loan 

originator licensee record.  Click the “Show” button to view the requirements and each portion 

completed will contain a check mark.  The Department’s website for approved mortgage loan 

originators may be found at: http://finance.idaho.gov/Mortgage/LoanOriginatorLicense.aspx.   

 

 For more information on SAFE Act education requirements please visit the NMLS 

website at: http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/profreq/Pages/default.aspx.   

 

 If you have any questions concerning the number of continuing education credits under 

your license number on record with the Department, or if you have continuing education 

completion certificates to file, please contact the Licensing Section of the Idaho Consumer 

Finance Bureau at: (208) 332-8002, via fax at (208) 332-8096, or via email at:  

mortgage@finance.idaho.gov.  To have continuing education credits recorded for certification, 

loan originators must file copies of their continuing education completion certificates with the 

Department.   
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