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ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST

The State of Idaho, Department of Finance (Department), pursuant to the Idaho Credit

Code, and specifically the provisions relating to payday loans, codified at Idaho Code § 28-46-

401 ef seq. (the payday loan provisions), hereby alleges the following facts that constitute a basis

for the issuance of an order pursuant to Idaho Code § 28-46-402(4), requiring GTT HOLDINGS,

LLC, to immediately cease and desist from violating the payday loan provisions of the Idaho

Credit Code.



RESPONDENT

1. Respondent, GTT Holdings, LLC, is a limited liability company organized in
the State of Delaware on or about November 21, 2011. It lists its physical and mailing address as
501 Silverside Road, Suite #8, Wilmington, DE 19809. Respondent has not filed any business
entity forms with the Idaho Secretary of State,

2. Respondent does not possess a license, as required by the Idaho Credit Code, to
make regulated consumer loans in Idaho.

3. Respondent 1s a listed lender on numerous payday loan websites. All applicants
must be at least 18 years old, a citizen of the United States, and have an active bank account.

FINDINGS OF FACT

4, On or about August 31, 2012, an Idaho resident, MC, entered into an agreement
with Respondent to obtain a loan in the amount of $300.00. The agreement was memorialized in
a contract emailed to MC, and on or about August 31, 2012, $300.00 was deposited into MC’s
bank account. Pursuant to the terms of the contract, on September 14, 2012, when the loan was
due, MC could cither pay off the loan in its entirety or refinance it. If MC chose to pay off the
loan, $390 would be debited from his bank account. Of that total amount, $90 was assigned as a
loan fee. If MC chose to refinance the loan, only the loan fee of $90 would be debited and he
would be given a new due date. The agreement gave Respondent authorization to debit MC’s
checking account on the loan due date.

5. On September 10, 2012, MC filed a complaint with the Department asserting
that he became aware Respondent was not licensed. The Department sent a letter to Respondent
on October 2, 2012, requesting that it provide all information relating to MC’s loan and a

complete listing of its Idaho customers.



6. On October 8, 2012, the Department received correspondence from
Respondent’s legal representative via facsimile acknowledging that a complaint had been filed
with the Department.

7. On October 11, 2012, the Respondent faxed another response to the
Department, stating that it would forgive the loan that M.C. received. However, Respondent
failed to send the Department a list of its Idaho customers as previously requested.

8. Based on information provided to the Department, the Department concludes as
follows:

a. Respondent has solicited, at least, one Idaho resident for a loan, which
resulted in a contractual agreement.
b. Respondent loaned the Idaho resident $300, and charged him a fee of $90.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND VIOLATIONS

COUNT ONE:
UNLICENSED PAYDAY LENDING IN IDAHO

9. The allegations set forth in paragraphs 1 through 8 above are fully incorporated
herein by this reference.
10. Idaho Code § 28-46-401 provides as follows, in pertinent part:

28-46-401. Definitions. —(1) As used in this act, unless the context otherwise
requires, “payday loan” means a transaction pursuant to a written agreement
between a creditor and the maker of a check whereby the creditor:

(a) Accepts a check from the maker;

(b) Agrees to hold the check for a period of time prior to negotiation,

deposit or presentment; and

(c) Pays to the maker of the check the amount of the check, less the fee
permitted by this chapter.

(3) As used in this section, “check” refers to a check or the electronic equivalent
of a check.

11. Idaho Code § 28-46-402 provides as follows, in pertinent part:




28-46-402. — License required. — (1) No person shall engage in the
business of payday loans, offer or make a payday loan, or arrange a payday loan
for a third party lender in a payday loan transaction without having first
obtained a license under this chapter. A separate license shall be required for
each location from which such business is conducted.

10. The loan between Respondent and MC constitutes a payday loan within the
meaning of Idaho Code § 28-46-401. Respondent loaned money to MC and MC authorized
Respondent to debit his bank account on the loan due date. This is an electronic equivalent of a
check.

11. Respondent, since it is engaged in the business of making payday loans, is

required to be licensed pursuant to Idaho Code § 28-46-402.

REQUESTED RELIEF

12. Idaho Code § 28-46-402(4) provides that whenever the Director of the
Department finds “that a person subject to this part has violated, is violating, or that there is
reasonable cause to believe that a person is about to violate the provisions of this part, or any rule
promulgated under this act and pertinent to this part, the administrator may, in his discretion, order
the person to cease and desist from the violations.”

ORDER

The Director, having reviewed the foregoing, good cause being shown, and the public
interest being served thereby,

NOW, THEREFORE, the Director HEREBY FINDS that Respondent has violated the
payday loan provisions of the Idaho Credit Code (section 400 of chapter 46, title 28, Idaho
Code).

Pursuant to Idaho Code § 28-46-402, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Respondent and its

agents and employees immediately CEASE AND DESIST from acts, practices, or omissions




which constitute a violation of the Act, including specifically from engaging in making payday
loans or other similar loans in Idaho without the license required by the Act.

This ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST is effective upon issuance.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED this 18" day of March, 2013.
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1R espondent is HEREBY NOTIFIED that this ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST is a
final order of the Director.

Respondent may file a motion for reconsideration or request for hearing concerning this
final order within fourteen (14) days of the service date of this order. Any such motion for
reconsideration or request for hearing must be in writing, addressed to:

Michael Larsen

Consumer Finance Bureau Chief

Idaho Department of Finance

P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0031

A copy of such motion for reconsideration or request for a hearing shall also be served on
the Department’s counsel, Brian D. Nicholas, Deputy Attornéy General, at the same address.

The Department will dispose of a motion for reconsideration within twenty-one (21) days
of the receipt of a motion for reconsideration, or the motion will be considered denied by

operation of law. Idaho Code § 67-5246(4); Idaho Rules of Administrative Procedure of the




Attorney General (IRAP) at IDAPA 4.11.01.740.02.a. Should Respondent make a timely request
for a hearing, the Department shall schedule a hearing within the twenty-one (21) day time
period.

Pursuant to Idaho Code §§ 67-5270 and 67-5272, any party aggrieved by this final order

may appeal to the district court by filing a petition in the district court of the county in which:

1. A hearing was held;
it. The final agency action was taken;
iii. The party seeking review of the order resides, or operates its principal place of

business in Idaho; or
iv. The real property or personal property that was the subject of the agency action is
located.
See IDAPA 04.11.01.740.02.b.

An appeal must be filed within twenty-eight (28) days of (a) the service date of this final
order, (b) of an order denying a motion for reconsideration, or (c) the failure within twenty-one
(21) days to grant or deny a motion for reconsideration or schedule a hearing, whichever is later.
See Idaho Code § 67-5273. The filing of an appeal to the district court does not itself stay the

effectiveness or enforcement of the order under appeal. See IDAPA 04.11.01.740.02.c.




CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

[ HEREBY CERTIFY that on this /7% day of /Moo /2013, 1
caused a true and correct copy of the foregoing fully-executed ORDER TO CEASE AND
DESIST to be served on the following by the designated means:

GTI Holdings, LLC [ 1 U.S. mail, postage prepaid

501 Silverside Rd, Suite #8 [X] Certified mail

Wilmington, DE 19809 [ ] Facsimile: 1-888-527-9790
[ ] Email:

V.Pﬁalegal W —




