Official Government Website

Mortgage Section

The Idaho Residential Mortgage Practices Act (IRMPA) charges the Idaho Department of Finance with the responsibility for licensing and regulating the mortgage related activities of mortgage lenders and mortgage brokers, mortgage loan modification companies, independent contractor mortgage loan processors and mortgage underwriters and mortgage loan originators.

The following provides basic licensing information as detailed in the IRMPA:

A brief summary of licensee qualifications include:

  1. $350 application fee,
  2. $250 recovery fund payment for the “main” office; $150 recovery fund payment for each additional Idaho-licensed branch office,
  3. Completed application,
  4. The individual in charge of each office must have a minimum of three years experience in residential mortgage brokering/lending. The designated Qualified Person in Charge (QPIC) is subject to eight (8) hours of continuing education annually beginning in 2010.
  5. Registration with the Idaho Secretary of State's Office.

All mortgage licensing is handled through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLSR). Information pertaining to testing, education and background checks may be found on the NMLSR website at: in the Professional Requirements section.

To get started, please go to the NMLSR website for complete information and filing requirements.

Questions pertaining to Idaho licensing requirements may be directed to 208-332-8002. Questions pertaining to the use and navigation of the NMLSR may be directed to the NMLSR Call Center at (240) 386-4444

Mortgage Section Online Resources: